Monday, 18 February 2013

25 post-event facts about ‘Barao vs. McDonald'

  1. Barao became the first interim champion in UFC history to successfully defend the belt since Andre Arlovski, who defended the interim title against Justin Eilers at UFC 53 before being promoted to undisputed heavyweight champion.
  2. Andy Ogle was the 9th fighter in UFC history to compete on his birthday. The overall record for those fighters is 4-5.
  3. Stanislav Nedkov was legitimately defeated for the first time in his 14-fight mixed martial arts (MMA) career.
  4. British fighters went 5-2 against opponents from other countries on the card.
  5. Jimi Manuwa has won three consecutive fights at the 5:00 mark of a round.
  6. Josh Grispi dropped to 0-4 in the UFC; he has not won an MMA fight since June 2010.
  7. Barao vs. McDonald was the first UFC title fight to take place in the U.K. since B.J. Penn vs. Joe Stevenson at UFC 80 in January 2008.
  8. After starting his MMA career 13-0, Paul Sass has lost two consecutive fights.
  9. UFC on FUEL TV 7 drew an attendance of 10,349 for a live gate of $1,300,000.
  10. Cyrille Diabate lost by TKO for the second time in his 29-fight career. The first was to Mauricio Rua in September 2006.
  11. Terry Etim has lost three of his last four fights.
  12. Jorge Santiago fell to 1-5 (five-straight losses) inside the Octagon and has not won a UFC fight since defeating Justin Levens in his UFC debut at UFC Fight Night 5 in June 2006.
  13. Manuwa earned his 13th consecutive stoppage victory with a TKO of Diabate.
  14. UFC on FUEL TV 7 was the first fight card in UFC history to have nine fights go to a decision. The previous record was eight decisions on a UFC card; a record tied between nine events.
  15. Barao has won 20-straight fights and is undefeated in his last 31 MMA bouts.
  16. Danny Castillo pushed his record under the UFC banner to 5-2 with a decision win over Sass.
  17. Cub Swanson tied Jose Aldo, Ricardo Lamas and Dustin Poirier for the longest win-streak in UFC featherweight history at four.
  18. McDonald was submitted for the first time in his 17-fight career.
  19. Barao earned the first finish in a UFC title fight since Jon Jones against Vitor Belfort at UFC 152 in September 2012.
  20. Tom Watson earned an additional $100,000 for ‘Fight of the Night' and ‘Knockout of the Night,' making him the first fighter since Scott Jorgensen at UFC on FOX 5 to receive a double bonus.
  21. Matt Riddle is one of three active UFC fighters to have fought all his professional bouts in the UFC. The other two are Amir Sadollah and Matt Mitrione.
  22. James Te Huna has won 10 of his last 11 fights with the lone defeat coming to Alexander Gustafsson.
  23. Ryan Jimmo saw his 17-fight win-streak come to an end and suffered his first defeat since his first professional bout in February 2007.
  24. Motonobu Tezuka and Ulysses Gomez dropped to 0-2 inside the Octagon.
  25. The total cage time of the 12-bout UFC on FUEL TV 7 fight card was two hours, 48 minutes and 39 seconds.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive